East Anglia Coastal Group | EACG

Aerial photographs courtesy Simon Barlow

Welcome to the EACG website

The East Anglia Coastal Group (EACG) brings together Coastal Protection Authorities and governmental bodies to work towards a joined-up sustainable approach to coastal management. The group covers the coast from Gibraltar Point in Lincolnshire to the Thames barrier. 

The group meets quarterly, with the meeting location varying and including site visits whenever possible. 

The group was founded in May 1987, under the name ACAG (Anglian Coastal Authorities Group), and is one of seven coastal groups which cover the coastline of England and Wales. These groups are brought together 4 times a year via Coastal Group Chairs meetings.

The primary objective of the group is:

To influence and support members to manage the coast for the benefit of the Anglian Region.

With secondary objectives supporting this:

1. To develop compatible management policies within the cell or sub-cells.

2. To work with other Regional Coastal Groups to the benefit of the Nation, the Group and its individual members.

3. To secure the necessary data to enable the EACG to meet its primary objective.

4. To ensure that individual members have access to national, regional and local information.

5. To assist Department for Environment Food and Rural Affairs in the development of national coastal risk management policies.

The East Anglia Coastal Group | EACG